Let’s Blend!!!

This past week I have been busy entering in the last portion of my course that I outlined in last week’s post, “Almost There”  I completed the discussion board forums and set up all of the assignments for the course. Our discussion forum will be the collaborative piece of the course. All other assignments throughout the course are done individually be each learner.

I can say that it has been fun designing this course and it is not an easy task. Meyer’s Universal Design for Learning – Theory and Practice has really been a valuable tool for planning my course.

You can sign up for my course below.

Link to class: https://www.coursesites.com/webapps/Bb-sites-course-creation-BBLEARN/courseHomepage.htmlx?course_id=_450253_1

In addition to my course I had to think of two courses in my school that I can redesign into online courses.  In the state of Texas students take the STAAR test. The STAAR test is a series of state-mandated standardized tests used in Texas public primary and secondary schools to assess a student’s achievements and knowledge learned in the grade level. Per Texas law, a fifth-grade student must pass the STAAR exam in mathematics to be promoted to sixth grade. Students who do not pass the exam must take an accelerated math class to review concepts and later demonstrate understanding through a retest. Students are allowed three attempts to pass the STAAR exam before being retained in fifth grade.

With that in mind one course that I would redesign in an online course would be Math. I would present an online course for 5th grade math that can be used in a blended classroom. I will also use it for tutorials or Saturday school for those struggling students. I think with the support of math online and to go along with in classroom assignments will allow teachers to give multiple avenues for their students a chance of better preparation for the STAAR test.

Another course I would redesign is Social Studies. Most kids think that history is boring. I think with an online course I would be able to bring history to life with supplemental videos, interactive timeline of events, etc.

 

Leave a Reply

